Cinnamon Scone Swirls and a little inspirations


Sometimes recipe inspiration comes to me at the most random times. I spend a lot of time thinking about food and different flavours. Sometimes ideas come to when I am running as I am trying to preocupy my mind from the 9km ahead of me or sometimes as I lie in bed trying to fall asleep an idea juts comes to me like an epiphany and I have to write it down there and then otherwise I will have forgotten it by morning. Other times, other recipes inspire me and I love looking at and examining new recipes seeing how I can adapt them to suite my taste. I also get ideas from movies and books which I scrutinize every meal and piece of food eaten. When I come up with a new idea a get giddy and restless until I try it. I then watch with eager eyes as my family, usually Sister number one, eat it. No sooner have they got it in their mouth do I badger them with questions ” what do you think of it honestly?” ” Is it too sweet/sour/hard/soft ect.?” Usually they are very patient and answer truthfully but sometimes they  get a little angry at my eagerness and a huge fight errupts. The idea for these cinnamin scone swirls had been in my head for a while. They were slightly inspired by Joy the Bakers biscuit cinnamin rolls   and these cinnamon roll scones I found on a new blog Naturally Ella. The flavour idea for these scones first came to me when I was eating the Hunger Games inspiered Fruit and Nut Bread. So inspiration can come to all of us at funny times but remember to stay opened minded “You always have to be ready for that little artistic Epiphany”-Unknown source

Cinnamon Swirl Scones

makes 6

Dough

100g of unbleached all purpose flour
100g of whole wheat pastry flour
3 tablespoons natural sugar
2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
15g butter softened
1 egg yolk
3/8 cup buttermilk (or natural yogurt thinned with a little milk or water)

Filling

1 tbsp of ground cinnamon

1tbsp of maple syrup

1tbsp of olive oil

small handfull of raisins (optional)

Preheat oven to 190C.  Line a muffin tin with buncases. Put all the dry ingredients in a bowl. Rub in the butter until the mixture looks like breadcrumbs. In a seperate bowl mix the milk and egg yolk. Add the wet mixture to the dry and mix well to form a dough. Knead it gently for a few seconds then put out on lightly floured surface. Roll out to about 2.5cm thick (try make it sort of rectangly it’s easier to roll up). Combine all of the filling ingredients and mix. Using a brush brush the cinnamon mixture over the surface of the dough and evenly sprinkle ont the raisins. Roll up tightly like a swiss roll. Then squeeze the roll to ensure it is tight roll it up and down a few times. Cut it into 6 even, smaller rolls. Place upright in the bunc cases. Brush with the remaining egg white or milk and sprinkle with caster sugar. Cook for about 30 minutes until the tops are nicly browned and so is the bottems.  Leave to cool slightly but serve warm.

These are also nice sprinkled with a royal icing made from 30g of icing sugar and 1-2 tsp of water.

Leave a Reply

