First Post and The Almighty Cookie

So here I am its a breezy March morning and I am about to post my first post on my blog. . I have taught long and hard about what should be my first recipe as first impressions only happen once. I decided on the last thing I made, which just happens to be Chocolate Chip Cookies (Adapted from the Avoca recipe). I have yet to met somebody who doesn’t love a cookie. There is something about cookies that makes them so appealing to all. The first chocolate chip cookie was make in 1937 when Ruth Graves Wakefield , of Whitman, Massachusetts, was making her favorite biscuit recipe and decided to add chunks of chocolate assuming they would melt into the mixture to form an utterly chocolate biscuit. Instead the chocolate held there shape and the first chocolate chip cookie was created. All I can say is thank God for Ruth Graves Wakefield.

This particular recipe  is a European cookie which is more like shortbread than the traditional soft baked american cookie . They are, or so  I have been told by friends, even better than the Marks and Spencer Cookies. Chewy yet crispy, deliciously buttery and just the perfect sweetness. They are so good that Mammy and Sister number one broke there Lenten promise to eat one, or two. I am sure God will forgive them for they are irresistible. They are in fact heaven in a bite . You use this as a base to any cookie and add what you wish. I used half and half white and milk chocolate but you could use any chocolate chips you wish or create your own combinations omitting the chocolate for dried fruit such as raisins, smarties, toffee chips or nuts. Personally I don’t like nuts in my cookies I always find you bite into them expecting it to be white chocolate and realize to your disappointment its a macadamia nut. I also don’t use chocolate chips instead I chop up a chocolate bar into large chunks so instead of lots of little pieces of chocolate you get large mouthfuls oozing from the cookie. Some people disagree with this method as they fear a bite of a cookie with no chocolate but, I say, that’s okay if you are guaranteed  the next bite will have a large chunk  Also if you want a chewier cookie you substitute the half the sugar for soft brown sugar. The world is your oyster when it comes to cookies enjoy. To make extra scrumptious sandwich two cookies together with vanilla ice cream to make a cookie sandwich mmmmmmmmm……..


My Utterly Irresistible Chocolate Cookies 
This recipe makes about 15 good sized cookies.

225g of butter
200g of granulated sugar
1 egg
1 drop of vanilla essence
250g of plain flour
1/2 tsp of baking soda
250g of chocolate chips of your choice

Cream the butter and sugar. Add the egg and vanilla. Sieve in the flour and bread soda, then mix in the chocolate chips. Divide into 15 even sized balls and flatten. Place in lined baking sheet ( warning they spread while cooking). Leave in the fridge for an hour. Preheat the oven to 170 degrees or Gas mark 3. Cook for 20-25 minutes. I put them under the grill for 30 seconds to brown a little BUT WATCH THEM LIKE A HAWK if you do.

They are best served slightly cooled so that the biscuit has firmed but the chocolate is still gooey but either way they disappear fairly fast
2 thoughts on “First Post and The Almighty Cookie

Leave a Reply

