Whole Wheat Raspberry Scones

Today I started my second work experience placement today unlike last term, in Chapter One http://www.chapteronerestaurant.com/, this term is less exciting. It’s in a garden centre. To be fair its one of those “Celtic Tiger” gold five star garden centres that sells everything from jewellery to beds.How did I end up in a garden centre you might ask, well to be honest I’m not really sure. I applied to work in the cafe in the Garden Centre went for an interview and ended up being told I would work in the book section. I know nothing about gardening. All day people were coming up to me looking for plants or gardening accessories I had never heard of. One woman was looking for a Money plant??. Unknown to myself I found it and the women thanked and complemented me for my excellent knowledge of plants. The worst part of the day was as I was leaving the Garden Centre to go home I saw the bus drive right past me I tried, but failed, to chase after it. I then had to wait 40 minutes in the rain for the next bus. I arrived home starving and decided to make  scones. Though in previous posts I have praised the cookie I find I am more of a scone girl. I don’t mean the traditional English afternoon tea scones, thought I do like them, I mean the new modern “healthy” scones created by the Americans. This scones were first introduced to us this side of the atlantic as dry sandy scones by starbucks, but we saw the potential and improved them.  They are more like a mix of both the the English scone and American muffin with a little  bit of cookie thrown in. They come in all shapes and sizes (triangle, round, square etc.) and contain a variety of delicious health boosting super food from oats to goji berries. This particular recipe contains whole wheat (which I just found out is two words as is health boosting and super food) and one of my favourite ingredients ……. RASPBERRIES. This recipe was inspired by the famous wholewheat ricotta scones from Smitten Kitchen.but I adapted the recipe to suit my likings and my fridge. I make to adaptions of the recipe to see which I preferred best. After much nibbling and crumbling form an excellent tasting panel consisting of Mammy, Daddy and Sister number one  we decided on the winning scone. These scones don’t rise that much when cooking so resemble a fat cookie but they taste amazing

Whole Wheat Raspberry Scones
Makes 7 good sized scones


140g of wholewheat flour
135g of plain flour
1 tablespoon of baking powder
65g of caster sugar
85g of softened butter
1/2 cup of natural yogurt
1 egg
half a cup of milk
1 cup of raspberries ( I used frozen)

Preheat oven to 180 degrees. Mix all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Rub in the butter. Add the raspberries and crush them up a little with the wooden spoon. Be gentle thought you don’t want a puree. Then add the wet ingredients and combine well. When the mixture is almost all combined use your hands to bring it all together. The mixture should be a little wetter than a typical scone which makes it harder to work with but the result is delightfully moist. Flatten on a floured surface to a little over 1 inch tall. Stamp out into about 6-7 rounds and place on floured baking try. Cook in oven for about 20 minutes or until they are lightly golden all over and dry to touch on the bottom.

Leave a Reply

