Splendiferous Chocolate Muffins

So I finally got a job. At the Garden Center I was doing work experience in. Not so glamorous but a job’s a job well the pay is €6.06 an hour and the bus journey costs me €4 so I am not really making much bu you can’t put a price on the experience can you? I have to admit that I was a little excited the first day to actually get to work with a REAL cash register and not one of the fisher price ones from my younger days. I get to be the person on the other side of the till and ask those questions that all till staff ask. We are given a five steps guideline to treating a customer they are

  1. Greet Customer with appropriate greeting for time of day
  2. Thank them for waiting (don’t apologize for the queue be positive at all times)
  3. Ask them for a reward card if not do they want a reward card
  4. Say something Pleasant ( what a lovely day or complement there baby/purchase)
  5. Tell them the total price and take payment method then say goodbye

Us tillers we have marketing down to a tee. I am being extra pleasant as I want to keep my job to buy a new pair of heels I have my eyes on a few pairs I am not sure why I buy heels at all as instead of making me look sleek and sexy like they should they make me look like a fool as I can’t walk never mind dance in them and they give you the worst blisters. Despite the pain there is something about the stiletto that I can’t resist I think the love of shoes is something in the genes of all girls. It’s in our DNA we are born with the irrational notion to spend lots of money and lovely shoes.

Another weakness that women tend to have is a love for all things chocolate. If you are like the hundreds of women who admit to this you must try these Chocolaty Muffins. And if you are not then you still must try the muffins as the smell will almost defiantly convert you. They are in fact Splendiferous

Splendiferous Chocolate Muffins

I have spent years looking for a rich coloured chocolate muffin all previous attempts have turned out a lightish brown colour. I finally did from Lilly Higgins blog stuff I Make Bake and Love/ who found it from a Dan Leopard recipe from the Guardian website  These are dark and luscious. The method is unusual first you make a custardy substance then add the flour. It also calls for no milk

I adapted the recipe to what I could find in my Kitchen

50g cornflour
3 level tbsp cocoa
80g of caster sugar
225ml cold water
75g unsalted butter, cubed
125g dark chocolate, broken small
75ml olive oil
2 large eggs
125g caster sugar
125g plain flour
2½ tsp baking powder

Preheat the oven to 180C

First make the custard: put the cornflour, cocoa, 80g of caster sugar and water into a saucepan and whisk together over a medium heat until boiling, very thick and smooth. Remove from the heat, beat in the butter and chocolate until melted and absorbed, then add the oil,  and one of the eggs, and beat again until combined. Add the remaining egg and the caster sugar, and beat again until smooth and thick.

Measure the flour and baking powder into a bowl, stir together, then sift directly on to the custard and beat through until combined. Spoon into a dozen paper muffin cases, using a  sitting in the pockets of a muffin tray,; h bake for 25 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Splendiferous Chocolate Muffins

  1. Congrats on the job and future new shoes! I’m with you on wanting a chocolate muffin that looks like chocolate. Can’t wait to see these ones in person.

    • Thanks if you want a real chocolate muffin these are the ones for you. You could add Chocolate chunks to the mix for an even more chocolaty indulgent or pop a chocolate truffle in the middle so that when they are warm the chocolate muffins have a liquid chocolate center.

Leave a Reply

