The Hunger Games Inspired Fruit and Nut Bread

I, like the rest of the world have just finished reading “The Hunger Games” first book. I unlike the rest of the world did not fall madly in love with it. I will admit it is a good book and enjoyed every minute of reading it but I just wanted the Hunger Games to end and for Peeta’s and Katniss’s romance to bloom. I suppose I won’t really enjoy the next two in the trilogy hence the name “The Hunger Games Trilogy”. I have a sneaky feeling that the next two book will not focus on a happy ever after the hunger games theme. Oh well, I still commend Suzanne Collins for like J.K Rowling and Stephanie Meyer she has gotten people who never read before to start reading which is always great.

When I read a book or watch a Movie I remember and focus on the food eaten and prepared by the characters ( Anne of Green Gables -Liniment Cake, The Help-Mississippi Mud Pie, Laura Ingalls Wilder Maple syrup snow). I am an avid foodie. In “The Hunger Games” food and lack of it plays a big part. One food scene that I remember most (and don’t worry it won’t ruin the end of the book) is at the start when Katniss recalls Peeta purposely burning Fruit and Nut Bread so she could feed her starving family. I decided to try for myself fruit and nut bread.

Peeta’s Fruit and Nut Bread a.k.a Hazelnut, Raisin and Honey Wholemeal Loaf.

^note you could call it a Honey I’m Wholemeal Loaf


When I made this bread for the photo I killed the yeast so it didn’t rise. Instead of light airy bread it was dense and heavy in texture but the flavour was still really nice (and I ate it all) that’s why I have included it on my blog. I am going to try it again hopefully with a better outcome

80g of hazelnuts blanched toated and chopped

400g of wholemeal flour

100g of plain flour

1.5 tsp of salt

7g sachet of fast-action yeast

1tbs of honey

350 ml of lukewarm milk

60g of raisins

2 tbs of milk to brush top with

Combine the flours and salt in a large bowl or freestanding electric mixer. Add the yeast and make a well in the flour. Stir the honey and milk together and pour into the well.

Using your hand or a dough hook attachment of the mixer, mix the flour into the liquid. If it feels or looks to dry add a tablespoon more milk at a time and vice versa with the flour if its too wet.

Turn out onto a lightly floured surface and kneed by hand for 10 minutes until it feels elasticy.  Add the nuts and raisins and gently work in to evenly distribute. Return to bowl cover with clingfilm and leave to rise for about an hour in a warm place until the dough has doubled in size.

Punch down the dough and shape into a loaf. Cut a line down the center. Tuck the ends under each other on a lined baking tray Cover loosely with cling film and leave to double in size again for about an hour. Towards the end of the rising preheat the oven to 200C/400F/gas mark 6

Uncover the loaf and glaze with milk. Bake for 30 minutes until golden brown and sounds hollow when tapped on the bottom.

This bread is lovely plain or just buttered but it is not too sweet to serve with savory toppings either such as cheese or chutneys.

2 thoughts on “The Hunger Games Inspired Fruit and Nut Bread

  1. Pingback: Honey I'm Wholemeal

  2. Pingback: Summer Solstice Cake « Honey I'm Wholemeal

Leave a Reply

