Eagle Egg and Meringues

Okay okay I haven’t been that good recently on writing posts but I have reasonable excuses I have been very busy. First I was preoccupied with Gaisce hikes and end of school trips Sailing and Carlingford when I returned home I was in no mode to cook, then there was my trip to Chicago which I am still recovering from and unlike other jet lags this one has not sprung upon me an unreasonable need to bake bread at three in the morning. So this post will be short and sweet. I will finally get the chance to share with you the incredibly large egg that I bought in the farmers market.  Nicknamed eagle egg.

Image

I used the egg to make meringues which are oh so simple to make, delicious to eat and very forgiving on your figure.

Meringues 

50g of caster sugar for every normal sized medium egg white

I usually use 4 egg whites to make about 12 large meringues

I like to swirl pink food colouring into the mixture for a little bit of prettiness

Preheat the oven to 120C Beat the egg whites in a clean bowl until stiff with an electric mixer. The trick is to turn the bowl upside down and if the the mixture falls out it wasn’t stiff enough. I have yet to have this problem be careful not to overbeat. Fold in the sugar 20g at a time. When all the sugar is incorporated swirl in the pink colouring to get a marble effect. Don’t overmix as you don’t want a pink meringue. Spoon the mixture into a piping bag and swirl out into disks it should make about 12-15 large meringues. or 24-30 smaller ones. Cook for one hour then turn the oven off and leave to cool in the oven. Serve with fresh fruit and cream.

Variations

you could fold in 3-4 tablespoons of roasted chopped nuts or dessicated coconut. Fold 2 tbs of sieved cocoa for chocolate meringues and sandwich them together with a chocolate ganache.

Leave a Reply

