Wholemeal pancakes to get you running

I love to run but there are some mornings when I get up and the last thing I want to do is put on my running gear and go running. It’s never as bad when I have left the house but for some reason. I saw a slogan saying “The hardest steps for a runner is the first one out the door” I completely agree. I have come up with a few methods of getting myself out of bed and out the door.

  1. Don’t think just do it. Make it part of a must do ritual like you wouldn’t start the day without brushing your teeth
  2. Don’t allow any excuses-its cold, I have blisters, I am don’t feel well …. They all mean I am too lazy
  3. Don’t think that one run won’t make a difference, it will make more of a difference than sitting at home.
  4. Tell yourself you will only go out for a short one, then once you are out their decide how long it will be. Your up and out now might as well make it count.

Though there are some times when I am half way round my run I start sucking air. This is when I have to chant to myself ” I don’t stop when I am tired I stop when I am done”. I know they all sound cheesy but they work for me.

Another tip is tell youself you will whip up a batch of these pancakes when you get home, or even better get somebody else to make them while you are out.

So go on get up and run then stuff yourself with these

Wholemeal pancakes makes 12 adapted from Lilly Higgins stuff I make bake and love 

125g of wholemeal flour

180 ml of buttermilk

2 tsp of baking powder

1-2 tsp of caster sugar

pinch of salt

1 egg

Sieve the flour and baking powder into a bowl Add the salt and sugar. Beat the egg with the milk and mix into the dry ingredients. Beat well making sure there are no lumps. Grease and heat a frying pan. When the pan is hot scoop spoonfuls of the mix onto the pan and turn down the heat. When the tops start to bubble flip the pancakes over and cook for 1-2 minutes on this side.  Serve straight away with maple syrup or dusted with sugar.

One thought on “Wholemeal pancakes to get you running

  1. Pingback: I’ll go tomorrow Porridge | Honey I'm Wholemeal

Leave a Reply

