Pear Cake

After making the Bircher Muesli  I had a large punnet of unripe pears sitting on the counter top. I debated over what I should do with them….

  1. Let them rot – it seemed like a lazy decision
  2. Make a pear and almond tart – it involved making pastry ughhh…
  3. Poach or stew them – BORING
  4. Make a cake with them
I Googled Pear Cake but nothing inspiring came up. Then a recipe from one of my favorite blogs  101 Cookbooks caught my eye Cele’s Old Fashioned Pear Cake.  I quickly printed out the recipe read over it and adapted it to suite my taste and cupboard . I replaced the butter with olive oil to make it a little healthier. I had no wholewheat flour so  wheat bran a of self raising. I don’t like cinnamon in cakes that aren’t specific cinnamon cakes, so that got ditched. And 6 pears seemed like an awful lot so I reduced the number. I  think I cooked it in the wrong size tin and was too lazy to follow the instructions instead I simply mixed up everything together. When I tipped my Cake out I decided it looked better upside down so it became an Upside Pear Cake on the spur of the moment. Despite all the alterations the cake still got the thumbs up from Mammy, Daddy and Sister Number One. Here is my Recipe for the very easy
Upside Down Pear Cake
100ml of olive oil
50g of wheat bran
50g of self raising flour
1tsp of baking powder
1/4 tsp of salt
2 eggs
1/2 a cup of sugar
2-3 pears (peeled,cored and quartered length ways )
Preheat the oven to 18oC. Put all the dry ingredients in a bowl. Add the egg and oil and mix well. Soften the pears in the microwave for about 2 minutes until the hard bite has softened. Place the Pears on a greased 15cm round, loose bottem  cake tin. Arrange them like the petals on a flower with the thin part of the pear facing in. Spoon over the cake mixture and bang the tin so that it spreads evenly over the tin. Cook for about 50 minutes

 

Leave a comment